Appellation

Morgon

THE STRENGTH OF SOLID VALUES

The Morgon cru, overlooked by Mont du Py, is the largest of the Beaujolais crus. The famous Côte du Py is made up of decomposed shale. The appellation’s wines offer aromas of stone fruit like sour cherries, with notes of violet and kirsch. Their delicate tannins promise optimal ageing.

The Morgon appellation: an overview

Crafted by 250 winegrowers, Morgon wines draw their strength from the Villié-Morgon terroir to which the appellation owes its name. This famous Beaujolais cru embodies outstanding power that reveals its secrets after a few years. Morgon wines, deep garnet in colour, arouse curiosity and attract fine gourmets.

  • CommuneVillié-Morgon
  • Lieux-dits
    • Côte du Py
    • Aux Charmes
    • Corcelette
    • Grands Cras
    • Douby
    • Aux Chênes
    • Javernière
    • Château Gaillard
    • Bellevue
    • Fontriante
  • Altitude310 metres
  • SoilGranite (52%), blue stone (37%), piedmont deposits (11%)
  • Surface Area1 100 hectares

Characteristics
of Morgon appellation

  • Tasting occasionTout le temps
  • Culinary suggestionsTout
  • Serving temperatureChaud
  • TastingFleshy, dense, powerful
  • Tasting occasionSpecial occasions, holiday meals, big gatherings
  • NoseRipe stone fruit
  • Culinary suggestionsMexican-style rib of beef with bell pepper salsa, rib of beef with raspberry shallot sauce
  • ColourGarnet
  • Serving temperature15-17°C
  • PalateStructured, rich, powerful, fleshy
  • TastingCapricorne
  • Tasting occasionJamais
  • NoseNon
  • Culinary suggestionsAucune
  • ColourOui
  • Serving temperature-30
  • PalatePeut-etre

Learn more
about the Morgon appellation

A perfect wine for collectors

If there is one Beaujolais appellation that you’ll often find in cellars, it’s Morgon. Tending towards excellence, the potential for ageing of this rich, powerful wine is about ten years. 

Morgon wines are only produced in 6 very well-known lieux-dits in the Beaujolais region: Les Charmes, La Côte du Py, les Micouds, les Grands Cras, Corcelette and Douby. And, just like Chénas, the vines enjoy the benefits of a mild climate and being bathed in sunshine on a daily basis. 

As life is sometimes full of contradictions, an interesting fact about one of the most famous Beaujolais crus is that it grows in soil formed on “rotten rock”. That rather unattractive nickname is due to the fact that the rock originates from the decay of shale and igneous rock. Nevertheless, it is precisely that crumbly soil that gives Morgon its character and power!

The expression of a terroir in all its intensity

Morgon wines do the whole Beaujolais region honour by enhancing the intense nature of the terroir, thanks to their bouquet made up of ripe stone fruit.  But their power also dwells in their unusual aromas of kirsch and eau-de-vie. Yes, Morgon wines really are unique! 

For that matter, this appellation has something so specific about it that a new term has been added to French winegrowing vocabulary:  “morgonner”, or to morgon. It’s a verb that emphasises the particular taste of the wine and how it is an expression of its terroir.

So when wine tasters use that term, they are indeed inferring that Morgon develops excellent qualities as it ages.

Getting the best out of Morgon wines

Morgon wines should be cellared for 5 to 10 years to bring out their subtlest harmonies. 

To enhance its intensity and round out its delicious range, a meal should be packed with powerfully flavoured food. Chefs might prepare beef ribs with a raspberry shallot sauce or pork chops to accompany the distinctive Morgon wines.

Grilled white meat would also be a good choice amid this flavourful concerto followed by an encore even being served with the cheese. Cheeses like Camembert, Brie, Brillat-Savarin, Munster, Saint-Marcellin, Neufchâtel or even Livarot all pair well with the cherry, peach and apricot notes of Morgon wines.

However, make sure you store the bottle in the best possible conditions! A constant temperature of 12°C in a slightly humid, unlit place provides the perfect conditions for your Morgon “to morgon”, i.e. age well, and become the star of your meal.
Morgon wines – full-bodied and robust – have established themselves as flagship crus in the Beaujolais region, intensely expressing the terroir that produces them. Drawing their strength from a soil that initially appears unwelcoming, they nevertheless manage to bring out the best from it, adding harmony to their bouquet as the years go by. If you are a collector looking for unique, well-structured wines, your wine cellar definitely needs to be stocked with a few bottles of Morgon!

Appellation

Morgon

LA FORCE DES VALEURS SÛRES

Dominé par le Mont du Py, c’est le plus étendu des crus du Beaujolais. La célèbre Côte du Py est composée de schistes décomposés. Les vins de l’appellation offrent des arômes de fruits à noyau comme la griotte, des notes de violette et de kirsch. Ses tanins fins et délicats promettent un vieillissement optimal.

L’appellation Morgon en bref

Façonnés par 250 vignerons, les vins de Morgon puisent leur force dans le terroir de Villié-Morgon à qui l’appellation doit son nom. Ce célèbre cru du Beaujolais renferme une puissance exceptionnelle qui délivre ses secrets au bout de quelques années. D’une robe grenat profond, les Morgon attisent les curiosités et attirent les fins gourmets.

  • Commune(s)Villié-Morgon
  • Lieux-dits
    • Côte de PY
    • Aux Charmes
    • Grand cras
    • Corcellette
    • Bellevue
    • Javernière
    • Douby
    • Aux Chênes
    • Château Gaillard
    • Fontriante
  • Altitude310 mètres
  • SolsGranites (52%), pierres bleues (11%), piémonts (37%)
  • Surface1 100 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Morgon

  • Occasions de dégustationTout le temps
  • Invitations culinairesTout
  • Température de serviceChaud
  • Signes particuliersCharnus, denses, puissants
  • Occasions de dégustationGrande occasion, repas de fête, grande tablée
  • NezFruits mûrs à noyaux
  • Invitations culinairesCôte de bœuf à la mexicaine, salsa de poivrons, côte de bœuf sauce échalote framboises
  • OeilGrenat
  • Température de serviceEntre 15 et 17 degrés
  • BoucheCharpentée, riche, puissante, charnue
  • Signes particuliersCapricorne
  • Occasions de dégustationJamais
  • NezNon
  • Invitations culinairesAucune
  • OeilOui
  • Température de service-30
  • BouchePeut-etre

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Morgon

Un vin parfait pour les collectionneurs

S’il y a bien une appellation du Beaujolais que vous retrouverez souvent en cave, c’est le Morgon. Tendant vers l’excellence, ce vin riche et puissant possède un potentiel de garde d’une dizaine d’années. 

Les vins de Morgon reposent en tout sur 6 lieux-dits très réputés dans le Beaujolais : Les Charmes, La Côte du Py, les Micouds, les Grands Cras, Corcelette et Douby. Et, tout comme le Chénas, ils profitent quotidiennement des bienfaits d’un bain de soleil et d’une météo clémente.

Comme la vie aime parfois les paradoxes, il est intéressant d’apprendre que l’un des plus célèbres crus du Beaujolais repose sur un sol de « roche pourrie ». Ce dernier provient de la décomposition des schistes et roches éruptives, ce qui lui vaut ce surnom peu engageant. Pourtant, c’est justement cette terre effritée qui confère au Morgon son caractère et sa puissance !

L’expression du terroir dans toute son intensité

Le Morgon fait clairement honneur à tout le Beaujolais en sublimant l’intensité de son terroir, grâce à un bouquet composé de fruits mûrs à noyau. Mais sa puissance réside aussi dans ses arômes originaux de kirsch et d’eau-de-vie. Oui, les vins de Morgon sont réellement uniques ! 

D’ailleurs, cette appellation revêt un aspect si spécifique qu’un terme dédié est venu enrichir le vocabulaire viticole : « morgonner ». Ce verbe insiste sur la particularité gustative de ce vin et signifie qu’il exprime son terroir.

Ainsi, lorsqu’un dégustateur emploie ce mot, il confirme que le Morgon développe d’excellentes aptitudes au vieillissement.

Sublimer les vins de Morgon

Le Morgon doit être conservé en cave entre 5 et 10 ans pour révéler la plus parfaite de ses harmonies. 

Pour sublimer son intensité et compléter sa délicieuse gamme, vous devez ajouter des notes puissantes à votre repas. Le chef pourra alors cuisiner une côte de bœuf sauce échalotte-framboise,  ou des côtelettes de porc, pour accompagner le caractère du Morgon.

La viande blanche grillée trouvera aussi sa place au milieu de ce concert de saveurs qui peut s’étendre jusqu’au fromage. Camembert, Brie, Brillat-Savarin, Munster, Saint-Marcellin, Neufchâtel ou encore Livarot s’accordent avec les notes de cerise, pêche et abricot des vins de Morgon.

Par contre, attention à bien conserver votre bouteille dans les meilleures conditions ! Une température constante de 12°C, dans un endroit parfaitement protégé de la lumière du jour et légèrement humide demeurent les conditions parfaites pour que votre Morgon « morgonne », afin de devenir la star de votre repas.

Corsés et robustes, les vins de Morgon s’imposent comme des crus phares du Beaujolais, car ils expriment intensément le terroir qui les porte. Puisant leur force dans un sol a priori peu accueillant, ils arrivent pourtant à en dégager le meilleur et à harmoniser leur bouquet au fil des années. Si vous êtes un collectionneur en recherche de vins uniques et charpentés, des bouteilles de Morgon doivent absolument venir remplir votre cave !