Appellation

Chiroubles

A TERROIR IN ALTITUDE

The Chiroubles cru is located north of the Rhône, in the heart of the village by the same name. The AOC is nestled on hillsides arranged in granite cirques whose series of amphitheatre-like valleys provide the vines with optimal exposure. These are the highest vines in Beaujolais (often on slopes with inclines over 30%), a guarantee of cool temperatures in the face of the current climate change. The Chiroubles growers are often considered “heroic”, given how physically demanding and meticulous the work is on the rugged hillsides.

The Chiroubles appellation: an overview

Chiroubles… This Beaujolais wine with the unusual name owes its ruby red colour and floral tones to the expertise of 80 wine growers, who look after their vine stocks every single day. Chiroubles vines grow at between 250 and 450 meters in altitude and are bathed in sunshine day after day, giving them that delicious, unmistakable taste.

  • CommuneChiroubles
  • Lieux-dits
    • Javernand
    • Bel-Air
    • Les Pontheux
    • Chatenay
    • Les Roches
    • Tempère
    • Fontenelle
    • Rochefort
    • Grille Midi
    • Les Bonnes
  • Altitude410 metres
  • Soil100% Pink granite
  • Surface Area310 hectares

Characteristics
of Chiroubles appellation

  • TastingFresh, generous, expressive
  • Tasting occasionAperitif, brunch, picnic
  • NoseFloral, iris, lily, violet, peony
  • Culinary suggestionsThai-style veal blanquette, chicken minestrone
  • ColourRuby red
  • Serving temperature13-15°C
  • PalateRed fruit

Learn more
about the Chiroubles appellation

A wine where gamay is at its best

Its ideal location in altitude helps the Gamay grape to develop. This traditional Beaujolais wine grape variety gets its delicious taste thanks to the rays of the sun absorbed in the heart of the grapes. 

Red fruit notes reinforce the impression it makes on the palate and produce a delicate wine that can be kept for several years. Gamay reveals the full extent of its potential in these wines. Chiroubles can be drunk straight away or laid down for a while to allow it to become more delicate and fruitier still.

For two or three years after the harvest, the bouquet will continue to evolve and flourish, making it even more of a gourmet treat when it is finally opened…

A wine that flourishes in the sun

Both fruit-driven, delicate on the palate and elegant, Chiroubles wines are bright red in colour with a sumptuous nose where floral aromas blend together, evoking small red fruit, offering freshness and delicacy on the palate. That freshness can be accredited to the vines that rest on the granitic sound common to Chiroubles and to an optimal amount of sunshine. 

Stretched out on a beach, soaking up the sun is the perfect recipe for satisfied grapes.  As a matter of fact, they like this exceptional environment so much that they enjoy it a week longer than other vineyards.

Yes, the Chiroubles harvest takes place a week later than other Beaujolais wines!

A perfect wine for an evening with friends

Although Chiroubles has a mellow bouquet, it is a wine that will delight every palate! Men and women, connoisseurs and amateurs appreciate this appellation particularly for evenings with friends when lively conversations and aperitifs make a perfect combination.

Chiroubles wines take pride of place at a dinner with close friends enjoying a get-together around a tray of charcuterie in the winter or at a summer barbecue.

This Beaujolais wine has definitely proven to be the perfect match for Thai-style veal blanquette and chicken minestrone. Try one of those pairings at your next dinner party!

Chiroubles reveals its nature as soon as you set eyes on its colour. Even in its youth, the purplish hues create a craving for this gourmet wine that fills the mouth with a bouquet of flowers and red fruit. Supple with little tannin, it remains a gateway to the world of Beaujolais wines for enlightened connoisseurs and a sure value for enthusiasts looking for a warm, convivial wine.

Appellation

Chiroubles

TERROIR D’ALTITUDE

Le cru Chiroubles se situe au nord du Rhône, au cœur du village dont il porte le nom. L’AOC se niche à flanc de coteaux disposés en cirques granitiques, dont leur succession avec des vallées permettent ainsi des expositions optimales de la vigne. On trouve ici les vignes les plus hautes du Beaujolais (les pentes dépassent souvent 30 %), un gage de fraîcheur dans le cadre du changement climatique actuel. Les vignerons de Chiroubles sont souvent qualifiés « d’héroïques », tant le travail est manuel et méticuleux sur ces coteaux accidentés.

L’appellation Chiroubles en Bref

Le Chiroubles… ce cru du Beaujolais au nom singulier doit sa magnifique robe rubis et ses accents floraux à l’expertise de près de 80 vignerons, qui chaque jour prennent soin de leurs ceps. Élevés entre 250 et 450 mètres d’altitude, les vignobles de Chiroubles profitent quotidiennement d’un bain de soleil qui leur procure cette gourmandise si reconnaissable.

  • Commune(s)Chiroubles
  • Lieux-dits
    • Javernand
    • Bel-Air
    • Les Pontheux
    • Chatenay
    • Les Roches
    • Tempère
    • Fontenelle
    • Rochefort
    • Grille Midi
    • Les Bonnes
  • Altitude410 mètres
  • Sols100 % Granite rose
  • Surface310 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Chiroubles

  • Signes particuliersFrais, gourmands, expressifs
  • Occasions de dégustationApéritif, brunch, pique-nique
  • NezFloral: iris, muguet, violette, pivoine
  • Invitations culinairesBlanquette de veau à la Thaï, minestrone au poulet
  • OeilRobe rubis
  • Température de serviceEntre 13 et 15 degrés
  • BoucheFruits rouges

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Chiroubles

Un vin où le gamay est sublimé

Son positionnement idéal sur les hauteurs aide le développement du gamay. Ce cépage traditionnel des vins du Beaujolais se pare de délicieuses qualités gustatives grâce aux rayons du soleil qui plongent au cœur des raisins. 

Quelques notes de fruits rouges renforcent son empreinte en bouche et en font un vin tendre, qui peut se conserver plusieurs années. Le gamay révèle ici l’étendue de son potentiel. Le Chiroubles peut ainsi très bien se déboucher immédiatement ou encore se languir quelques temps pour révéler davantage de tendresse et de fruité.

Durant les deux ou trois années après sa récolte, le bouquet continuera son épanouissement et n’en sera que plus gourmand à l’ouverture…

Un vin qui s’épanouit au soleil

À la fois gourmands, équilibrés et élégants, les vins de Chiroubles sont dotés d’une robe au rouge éclatant et d’un nez somptueux où se mêlent des arômes floraux évoquant des petits fruits rouges. Ils offrent fraîcheur et finesse en bouche. Cette fraîcheur s’explique par un repos sur le sable granitique de Chiroubles et un taux d’ensoleillement optimal. 

Allongés sur une plage, enveloppés de soleil, voici la recette parfaite pour des raisins épanouis. D’ailleurs, ils aiment tellement cet environnement exceptionnel qu’ils s’en délectent une semaine de plus que les autres vignobles. 

Oui, les vendanges du Chiroubles sont organisées une semaine après celle des autres vins du Beaujolais !

Un vin parfait pour les soirées entre amis

S’il est vrai que le Chiroubles propose un bouquet assoupli, ce vin ravit les palais de tous genres ! Hommes et femmes, connaisseurs et amateurs apprécieront particulièrement cette appellation durant les soirées conviviales où discussions animées et apéritifs se combinent à la perfection.

Les Chiroubles trônent fièrement sur une table entourée d’amis proches, qui se retrouvent pour s’amuser autour d’un plateau de charcuterie hivernal ou d’un barbecue estival.

Ce vin du Beaujolais s’avère, en effet, être le conjoint idéal d’une blanquette de veau à la Thaï, minestrone au poulet. Célébrez ce mariage lors de votre prochaine soirée !

Le Chiroubles annonce la couleur dès l’observation de sa robe. Dès sa jeunesse, les nuances violacées donnent immédiatement une appétence pour ce vin gourmand, qui emplit la bouche d’un bouquet de fleurs et de fruits rouges. Souple et peu tannique, il reste une porte d’entrée dans l’univers des vins du Beaujolais pour les amateurs éclairés et une valeur sûre pour les connaisseurs en quête de chaleur et de convivialité.