Appellation

Juliénas

A PLACE & A WINE FULL OF CHARACTER

Stretching across four communes, mainly in the Rhône with a small part in the Saône-et-Loire, the Juliénas cru benefits from excellent sunshine exposure. The average altitude varies, starting at 230 metres and reaching 430 metres in the far northwest. The AOC definitely has one of the most diverse soils in the Beaujolais: schist, diorite and sandstone as well as clay.

The Juliénas appellation: an overview

Juliénas wines grow across the southern and south-eastern slopes of Mont du Bessay, which has a wealth of different terroirs. This hillside is divided into zones of granitic, sedimentary and “rotten rock” soils, which is what makes it possible to store these Beaujolais crus for several years without losing any quality. Subtly spicy, this appellation lives up to its name, which it gets from a certain emperor…

  • CommuneJuliénas
  • Lieux-dits
    • Les Capitans
    • Les Fouillouses
    • Les Mouilles
    • La Bottière
    • Vayollette
    • Bessay
    • En Rizière
    • Beauvernay
    • Bois de la Salle
    • Cotoyon
  • Altitude330 metres
  • SoilBlue stone (42%), granite (3%), piedmont deposits (29%), schist (14%)
  • Surface Area570 hectares

Characteristics
of Juliénas appellation

  • TastingExpressive, fresh, fleshy
  • NoseRed fruit, strawberry, violet, cinnamon, redcurrant and peony
  • Culinary suggestionsRoasted chicken and crispy potatoes with gremolata, Roasted Mont d'Or cheese
  • ColourDeep and intense ruby
  • Serving temperature15-17°C
  • PalateBouquet of peach, red fruit and floral aroma

Learn more
about the Juliénas appellation

A WINE AS POWERFUL AS JULIUS CAESAR

Juliénas wines are so called in honour of Julius Caesar who occupied the region in 100 BC. His troops may have already been growing vines back then…

But the allusion to Julius Caesar isn’t just in the appellation. The granite terroir, rich in alluvial deposits, also gives these Beaujolais wines unique character – character not entirely unlike that of the invincible general, who would surely appreciate the subtle mix of fruit and spice that emanate from Juliénas wines.

There is no shortage of adjectives to describe this outstanding Beaujolais cru: vigorous, robust, structured, seductive and elegant. Characteristics that are also used to describe Julius Caesar. A wine so like him it’s borderline audacious!

And that’s not all…

A WINE AS COURAGEOUS AS A LEGIONARY

Juliénas wines grow at heights of 250 to 470 meters in altitude on a slope that gets steeper and steeper. The vines are planted in poor soil and need all their strength and courage to grow properly and find the resources they need.

The gamay noir à jus blanc variety is perfectly up to the task and guarantees high-quality production.   The courage of the vines is reflected in the complex bouquet of Juliénas: the floral, fruity, spicy aromas and mineral notes make for a harmonious blend.

A WINE AS WELCOMING AS THE GAULS

Juliénas is not known only for its excellent wines. It is also a charming village of about 800 inhabitants, a lively tourist haven that extends a warm welcome to travellers who come to discover the Beaujolais crus as well as anyone seeking to live in the village year round.

This small town is packed with places to visit such as the Old Church, the Caveau, the Bois de la Salle chateau, Juliénas chateau and the Maison de la Dîme. Of course, there are also many wineries ready to help you discover the flavours of a Juliénas wine.

And if you decide to visit the Beaujolais region in summer, don’t miss the ‘Nuits du Vin’ in late June: a friendly 2-day festival with wine tastings in the village centre!

A visit to Juliénas is a must on a trip to the Beaujolais vineyards. The village is a great place for rest and relaxation as well as an extraordinary journey into a showcase of nature. The village’s rustic style and its old-fashioned charm offer something akin to an imaginary journey back in time…

Appellation

Juliénas

TOUT LE CARACTÈRE DES LIEUX DANS LE VERRE

Située sur 4 communes, principalement dans le Rhône et pour une petite partie en Saône-et-Loire, elle bénéficie d’un excellent ensoleillement. L’altitude moyenne des vignes varie entre 230 et 430 mètres, à l’extrémité nord-ouest du vignoble. Elle bénéficie sans doute de l’une des diversités de sols les plus importantes du Beaujolais : schistes, diorites, grès mais aussi argile.

L’appellation Juliénas en bref

Les vins de Juliénas s’étendent sur la façade sud et sud-ouest du Mont de Bessay, riche en terroirs ! En effet, ce versant se partage entre sols granitiques, terrains sédimentaires et « roches pourries », ce qui permet à ces crus du Beaujolais de se conserver plusieurs années sans perdre en qualité. Offrant des vins discrètement épicés, cette appellation fait honneur à son nom qu’elle doit à un certain empereur…

  • Commune(s)Juliénas
  • Lieux-dits
    • Les Capitans,
    • Les Fouillouses
    • Les Mouilles
    • La Bottière,
    • Vayollette
    • Bessay
    • En Rizière
    • Beauvernay
    • Bois de la Salle
    • Cotoyon
  • Altitude330 mètres
  • SolsPierres bleues (42%), granites (3%), piémonts (29%), schistes (14%)
  • Surface570 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Juliénas

  • Signes particuliersExpressifs, frais, charnus
  • NezFruits rouges, fraise, violette, cannelle, groseille et pivoine
  • Invitations culinairesPoulet rôti, pommes de terre croustillantes à la gremolata, Mont d’Or rôti
  • OeilRubis intense et profond
  • Température de serviceEntre 15 et 17 degrés
  • BoucheBouquet de pêche, de fruits rouges et d’arômes floraux

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Juliénas

UN VIN AUSSI PUISSANT QUE JULES CÉSAR

Si les vins de Juliénas porte ce nom, c’est en l’honneur de Jules César qui occupa la région en l’an 100 avant J.-C. Il se peut même que ses légions y cultivaient déjà la vigne…

Mais, l’allusion à Jules César ne se retrouve pas que dans l’appellation. Le terroir granitique et riche en alluvions confère aussi une puissance singulière à ces Beaujolais. Ce caractère n’est pas sans rappeler celui du vaillant général, qui apprécierait sûrement le subtil mélange de fruits et d’épices que dégagent les Juliénas.

Enfin, les adjectifs pour décrire ce cru exceptionnel du Beaujolais ne manquent pas : nerveux, robuste, charpenté, séduisant ou encore élégant. Tant de qualités qui sont aussi utilisées pour parler de Jules César. Une telle ressemblance frise l’insolence !

Et ce n’est pas fini…

UN VIN AUSSI COURAGEUX QU’UN LÉGIONNAIRE

Les vins de Juliénas se cultivent sur une hauteur qui varie de 250 à 470 mètres, sur un versant de plus en plus pentu. Reposant sur un sol pauvre, il faut beaucoup de force et de courage aux ceps pour s’épanouir et trouver des ressources.

Le gamay noir à jus blanc y arrive parfaitement, il garantit une production de grande qualité. La vaillance des vignes se retrouve alors dans le bouquet complexe des bouteilles de Juliénas : arômes floraux, fruits, épices et notes minérales s’allient harmonieusement.

UN VIN AUSSI ACCUEILLANT QUE LES GAULOIS

Juliénas n’est pas uniquement connu pour ses excellents vins, c’est également une charmante commune d’environ 800 habitants. Animé et touristique, ce village accueille volontiers les voyageurs venus découvrir les crus du Beaujolais, mais aussi toute personne souhaitant y vivre à l’année.

Cette petite bourgade regorge de lieux à visiter comme la Vieille Église, le Caveau, le Château du Bois de la Salle, le Château de Juliénas ou encore La maison de la dîme. Évidemment, il y a de nombreuses caves prêtes à vous faire découvrir les saveurs du Juliénas.

Et si vous choisissez de visiter le Beaujolais en été, ne manquez pas les nuits du vin fin juin: 2 jours de fête, de convivialité et de dégustation au cœur du village !

Un passage dans les vignobles du Beaujolais doit comporter une étape à Juliénas. Lieu de détente et de relaxation, la commune, comme l’appellation, vous offriront un voyage intense dans un écrin de verdure. Le côté rustique du Juliénas et le charme ancien du village prendront une fantastique allure de voyage dans le temps…