Appellation

Brouilly

WINE WITH THAT TYPICAL FRENCH CHARM

Brouilly, the southernmost and most extensive of the Beaujolais crus, stretches out at the foot of Mont Brouilly and its chapel (Notre-Dame aux Raisins). The fruit-driven (plum, small red fruit) wines, sometimes with mineral notes, express the gamay bouquet perfectly. Brouilly wines can be enjoyed in their youth. Labelled as a geo-site within the framework of the “UNESCO Global Geopark” network, a panoramic viewpoint has been set up at the top of Mont Brouilly as a showcase of the region’s diverse geology.

The Brouilly appellation: an overview

A flagship wine of the Lyon region, the Brouilly cru covers the largest area in Beaujolais. Recognised as an AOC since 1938, it expresses an incredible wealth of flavours that tickle the taste buds of wine lovers and enthusiasts alike.

  • CommuneOdenas, Quincié-en-Beaujolais, Saint-Lager, Saint-Etienne-la-Varenne, Cercié and Charentay
  • Lieux-dits
    • Saburin
    • Pissevieille, Briante
    • Pierreux
    • Combiaty
    • Les Platures
    • Les Nazins
    • La Roche
    • Les Bruyères
    • La Terrière
  • Altitude290 metres
  • Soilpink granite (46%), blue stone (4%), limestone, marl, clay, shale
  • Surface Area1 250 hectares

Characteristics
of Brouilly appellation

  • TastingFruity, round, smooth
  • Tasting occasionFestive meals, aperitifs with friends
  • NoseSmall red fruit aromas dominated by strawberry and raspberry
  • Culinary suggestionsCarrot cake with coconut icing, veggie couscous
  • ColourRuby red
  • Serving temperature13-15°C
  • PalateSmooth and round, mellow tannins

Learn more
about the Brouilly appellation

A wine at the crossroads of several terroirs

At the crossroads of 4 distinct terroirs, the Brouilly wines draw their bouquet from an especially rich soil, made up of pink granite, calcareous blue stone and marl.

Covering a surface area of 1250 hectares, the vineyard of this exceptional wine produces over 8 million bottles a year, which are exported worldwide. 

The Brouilly appellation, overlooked by Mont Brouilly, attracts thousands of visitors who come to discover the Beaujolais wine route. In the heart of the communes of Quincié-en-Beaujolais, Odenas, Cercié, Saint-Lager, Charentay and Saint-Étienne-la-Varenne, tourists can also admire the sloping vineyards.

Brouilly remains one of the most renowned Beaujolais crus, in France and abroad. After all, it is the best-selling wine in chic Parisian brasseries!

A wine with a wide array of sensations

Brouilly wines can be savoured with the eye, nose and mouth. Their ruby red colour usually dons dark purple hues. Swirl it in your glass to enjoy its purplish highlights and admire its sparkling colour.

On the nose, this Beaujolais cru releases nicely ripe red fruit aromas. Take little sniffs to whet your appetite.

On the palate, this wine with a resolutely French charm, combines elegance with finesse. The mellow tannins give way to fruity aromas and floral delights. Last of all, the mineral notes accompany this delicious stroll in the heart of the Brouilly appellation.

A perfect wine for typically French dishes

The reason this wine is so popular in Paris is because it pairs perfectly with the dishes that have made French gastronomy famous.

Brouilly wine traditionally accompanies a Bresse chicken, simply braised and served with a few roasted potatoes, veggie couscous or a hamburger whipped up by your local neo-Bistro. However, this Beaujolais cru proves to be an excellent ally for your aperitifs during which you can serve verrines made with sweet potato, aubergine caviar, beetroot, creamed ham or split peas.

And a bottle of Brouilly will also carry you through to the end of the meal, since it goes just as well with desserts like carrot cake with coconut icing.

The finesse and elegance of Brouilly wines make them the perfect companions for meals with family and friends. Simply served as an aperitif or savoured throughout the meal, a bottle of this emblematic Beaujolais cru reveals its typically French charm, to be discovered and rediscovered time and time again!

Appellation

Brouilly

LE CHARME D’UN VIN À LA FRANÇAISE

Le plus méridional des crus est aussi le plus étendu. Il s’étend au pied du Mont Brouilly et de sa chapelle (Notre-Dame aux Raisins). Sur le fruit (prune, petits fruits rouges), avec parfois des notes minérales, les vins de Brouilly expriment parfaitement le bouquet du gamay. Ils  s’apprécient dans leur jeunesse. Reconnu comme géosite dans le cadre du label « Géoparc mondial UNESCO », un belvédère a été aménagé au sommet du Mont Brouilly afin de présenter la géologie variée de la région.

L’appellation Brouilly en bref

Vin phare de la région lyonnaise, le Brouilly est le cru le plus étendu du Beaujolais. Reconnu comme appellation d’origine contrôlée depuis 1938, il exprime une richesse de saveurs incroyables et éveille les papilles des amateurs, comme des passionnés d’œnologie.

  • Commune(s)Odenas, Quincié-en-Beaujolais, Saint-Lager, Saint-Etienne-la-Varenne, Cercié et Charentay
  • Lieux-dits
    • Saburin
    • Pissevieille
    • Briante
    • Pierreux
    • Combiaty
    • Les Platures
    • Les Nazins
    • La Roche
    • Les Bruyères
    • La Terrière
  • Altitude290 mètres
  • SolsGranite rose (46%), pierres bleues (4%), piémonts (34%), colluvions de bas de pente (9%), roches sédimentaires (5%), argiles (1%)
  • Surface1 250 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Brouilly

  • Signes particuliersFruités, ronds, souples
  • Occasions de dégustationRepas festif, apéritif entre amis
  • NezPetits fruits rouges dominés par la fraise et la framboise
  • Invitations culinairesCarrot cake glaçage noix de coco, couscous végétarien
  • OeilRouge rubis
  • Température de serviceEntre 13 et 15 degrés
  • BoucheSouple, ronde, tanins fondus

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Brouilly

Un vin au carrefour de plusieurs terroirs

Au carrefour de 4 terroirs distincts, les vins de Brouilly puisent leur bouquet dans un sol particulièrement riche, composé de granit rose, de marnes et de pierres bleues calcaires.

D’une superficie de 1 250 hectares, le vignoble de ce vin d’exception produit chaque année plus de 8 millions de bouteilles qui s’exportent à travers le monde. 

Surplombé par le Mont Brouilly, le Brouilly attire chaque année des milliers de visiteurs venus découvrir la route des vins du Beaujolais. Au cœur des communes de Quincié-en-Beaujolais, Odenas, Cercié, Saint-Lager, Charentay et Saint-Étienne-la-Varenne, les touristes peuvent aussi admirer ses vignes pentues.

Le Brouilly demeure l’un des crus du Beaujolais les plus réputés à l’international, mais aussi dans notre beau pays. Il est le vin le plus consommé dans les chics brasseries parisiennes !

Un vin aux multiples sensations 

Les vins de Brouilly se dégustent aussi bien avec l’œil, le nez et la bouche. Leur robe rouge rubis se pare généralement de nuances violines. Faites-le tourner dans votre verre pour profiter de ses reflets pourpres et admirer l’éclat de sa robe !

Au nez, ce cru du Beaujolais libère ses arômes de fruits rouges bien mûrs. Respirez par petites touches pour vous mettre en appétit.

Au moment de la dégustation, ce vin au charme résolument français, combine l’élégance avec la finesse. Les tanins fondants laissent place aux arômes fruités et aux délices floraux. Enfin, les notes minérales ponctuent cette délicieuse promenade au cœur du Brouilly. 

Un vin parfait pour les plats typiquement français

S’il est aussi populaire à Paris, c’est parce qu’il s’accorde parfaitement avec les plats qui ont fait la renommée de la gastronomie française.

Le vin de Brouilly accompagne traditionnellement une volaille de Bresse, simplement braisée et servie avec quelques pommes de terre rôties, le couscous végétarien ou l’hamburger confectionné par votre Néo-Bistrot de quartier. Cependant, ce cru du Beaujolais s’avère être un excellent allié de vos apéritifs durant lesquels vous pourrez servir des verrines à base de patate douce, de caviar d’aubergine, de betterave, de crème de jambon ou de pois cassés. 

Enfin, une bouteille de Brouilly vous emporte jusqu’à la fin du repas, puisqu’elle se marie également avec vos desserts comme un carrot cake glaçage noix de coco. 

La finesse et l’élégance des vins de Brouilly en font les compagnons parfaits de vos repas conviviaux et familiaux. Simplement servie en apéritif ou accommodée durant tout le repas, une bouteille de ce cru emblématique du Beaujolais vous délivre son charme typiquement français, à découvrir et à redécouvrir !