Appellation

Régnié

INSPIRING WINES FOR THE CRU WITH TWO SPIRES

The village of Régnié-Durette is especially noteworthy for its church with two spires (built in 1867 based on the design by Pierre Bossan, the architect who later built the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière). The vines are planted on slopes at an average of 350 metres in altitude, facing southeast. This appellation’s wines are light, easy-to-drink and rich in mineral elements, very aromatic, maturing quickly.

The Régnié appellation: an overview

The work of 120 wine growers, Régnié is the youngest of the Beaujolais crus! In fact, it wasn’t until 1988 that this appellation was officially recognised. But the newcomer in the family has got a lot to offer. Its favourable geographical location, in between its two brothers, Brouilly and Morgon, produces wines of a unique fruitiness.

For those who would like to learn more about the world of wine, Régnié wines remain affordable and are an excellent way to gain better understanding of Beaujolais crus.

  • CommuneRégnié-Durette, Lantignié
  • Lieux-dits
    • LA BASSE RONZE
    • LA HAUTE PLAIGNE
    • LES CHASTYS
    • VALLIÈRES
    • LA PIERRE
    • LES REYSSIERS
    • AUX BRUYÈRES
    • OEILLAT
    • CROIX PENET
    • LES BOIS
    • LES BRAVES
  • Altitude350 metres
  • Soilgranite (64%), piedmont deposits (34%)
  • Surface Area390 hectares

Characteristics
of Régnié appellation

  • Tastingsuppleness and fruit
  • Tasting occasionaperitif, brunch, picnic
  • NoseRaspberry, redcurrant, plum, blackberry, blackcurrant with spicy, mineral notes
  • Culinary suggestionsVeggie burgers, seafood paella
  • ColourCherry or ruby red
  • Serving temperature12-14°C
  • PalateRed fruit, freshness and structure, delicate tannins

Learn more
about the Régnié appellation

A winegrowing history

Régnié wines are named after this charming commune with its magnificent double-spired church (designed by the architect who built Notre-Dame de Fourvière basilica) nestled on the road to the Loire Valley.

Its strategic location meant that its wines could be easily transported and marketed as far off as Paris, even as early as the 18th century. The elegant fruitiness – from a gamay grape that draws its resources from early-ripening terroirs – makes for a wine enjoyed by all palates, even the most discerning ones.

An aromatic, easy-to-drink wine

The secret of the success of Régnié wines is their delicious taste, which is apparent even when the wine is very young.  However, epicureans who prefer more tannic, structured crus, will also find what they are looking for if they leave this wine to age for a few years.

In fact, this Beaujolais cru gets all its originality from the way it ages. If you’re taking your first steps in the world of wine, buy two bottles of Régnié. Taste one straight away to start learning how to recognise its red and black fruit aromas. You’ll enjoy a supple, fruity wine with a nice long finish.

As for the second bottle, store it in a dry place at 12°C. Continue learning about wine and wait a few years before opening it. Your trained palate and the way the Régnié has developed will allow you to enjoy a wine with refined, mellow tannins, noticeable red fruit aromas and delicate mineral and spicy notes.

A wine to pair with tapas

Thanks to their freshness and affordability, Régnié wines are the perfect accompaniment for evenings with friends. It’s also a good opportunity to introduce your friends and family to wine tasting with this delicious wine that reveals its secrets right from the first sip.

This Beaujolais cru will brighten up your appetizer buffets, where you can serve it with charcuterie, cheese and tapas. But don’t think of Régnié as just an aperitif wine! After several years of cellaring, it is also a good match for leg of rabbit or duck, red mullet filets and spare ribs.

To end on a high note, serve a chocolate delight, preferably topped with red fruit, to set off the wine’s fruity bouquet perfectly and finish the meal in a blaze of glory!

Appellation

Régnié

DE SACRÉS VINS POUR LE CRU AUX DEUX CLOCHERS

Le village de Régnié-Durette interpelle par la particularité de son église qui ne possède pas moins de deux clochers (édifiée en 1867 selon les plans de l’architecte Pierre Bossan qui réalisera ensuite la Basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière). Les vignes sont plantées sur des coteaux d’une moyenne de 350 mètres d’altitude orientés Sud-Est. Les vins de l’appellation sont légers, gourmands et riches en éléments minéraux, très aromatiques et précoces.

L’appellation Régnié en bref

Œuvre de près de 120 vignerons, Régnié a rejoint les 9 autres des crus du Beaujolais en 1988, lorsque cette appellation fut officiellement reconnue. Le cadet de la famille a pourtant beaucoup à nous offrir. Sa situation géographique favorable, entre ses deux frères Brouilly et Morgon, donne des vins au fruité unique.

Pour les personnes désireuses de mieux connaître l’univers du vin, les vins de Régnié demeurent accessibles et une excellente entrée vers une meilleure compréhension des crus du Beaujolais.

  • Commune(s)Régnié-Durette, Lantignié
  • Lieux-dits
    • La Basse Ronze
    • La Haute Plaigne
    • Les Chastys
    • Vallières
    • La Pierre
    • Les Reyssiers
    • Aux Bruyères
    • Oeillat
    • Croix Penet
    • Les Bois
    • Les Braves
  • Altitude350 mètres
  • SolsGranites (64%), piémonts (34%)
  • Surface390 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Régnié

  • Signes particuliersSouplesse et fruit
  • Occasions de dégustationApéritif, brunch, pique-nique
  • NezFramboise, groseille, prunelle, mûre, cassis, notes épicées et minérales
  • Invitations culinairesBurgers veggie, paëlla aux fruits de mer
  • OeilRouge cerise ou rubis
  • Température de serviceEntre 12 et 14 degrés
  • BoucheFruits rouges, de la fraîcheur et de la structure, des tanins fins

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Régnié

Un passé viticole historique

Les vins de Régnié tiennent leur nom de cette charmante commune, où trône une magnifique église aux deux clochers façonnée par l’architecte qui a construit Notre-Dame de Fourvière. Elle est nichée sur la route menant à la Vallée de la Loire.

Stratégiquement placée, elle pouvait facilement commercialiser ses vins jusqu’à Paris et ce, dès le XVIIIème siècle. Le fruité élégant, produit par un gamay qui puise ses ressources dans des terroirs précoces, en fait un vin apprécié de tous les palais, même les plus délicats.

Un vin gourmand et aromatique

Le succès des vins de Régnié s’explique par leur gourmandise qui se révèle dès leur prime jeunesse. Cependant, les fins gourmets préférant les crus plus tanniques et marqués pourront aussi y trouver leur compte s’ils le laissent vieillir de quelques années.

Toute l’originalité de ce cru du Beaujolais réside justement dans sa manière de vieillir. Si vous faites vos premiers pas dans l’univers du vin, achetez deux bouteilles de Régnié. Dégustez-en une immédiatement pour apprendre à reconnaître ses arômes de fruits rouges et de fruits noirs. Vous profiterez d’un vin souple, fruité avec une bonne longueur en bouche.

Quant à la seconde bouteille, conservez-la au sec, à une température de 12°C. Continuez votre parcours initiatique et ouvrez-la seulement dans quelques années. Votre palais entraîné et l’épanouissement du Régnié vous offriront un vin aux tannins fins et fondants, avec des arômes de fruits rouges marqués et de délicates notes minérales et épicées.

Un vin pour vos soirées tapas

Grâce à leur fraîcheur et leur accessibilité, les vins de Régnié sont les compagnons parfaits de vos soirées entre amis. C’est aussi l’occasion d’initier vos proches à la dégustation, avec un vin gourmand qui délivre ses secrets dès la première gorgée.

Ce cru du Beaujolais viendra donc égayer vos apéritifs dînatoires, à base de charcuterie, fromage et tapas. Cependant, ne voyez pas ce vin uniquement comme une bouteille à servir à l’apéritif ! Au bout de quelques années de garde, il accompagne aussi des cuisses de lapin ou de canard, du filet de rouget et des travers de porc.

Finissez sur un délice au chocolat, agrémenté de fruits rouges si possible, pour sublimer son bouquet fruité et terminer le repas en apothéose !