Appellation

Fleurie

HEAVENLY LANDSCAPES, HOME TO FRAGRANT WINES

The Fleurie appellation has the geographical particularity of sloping down from a range of peaks including the Fût d’Avenas, Col de Durbize, Col des Labourons and Pic Raymont. The hill, called La Madone, towers over the appellation, offering a breath-taking panorama of all the vineyards. Located entirely in the commune by the same name, it owes its name to a Roman legionary.

The Fleurie appellation: an overview

Fleurie wines are, without a doubt, the most feminine of the Beaujolais crus. First of all, they are grown in lush green surroundings, in the heart of gorgeous lieux-dits that produce wines with a beautiful crimson red colour.

  • CommuneFleurie
  • Lieux-dits
    • La Madone
    • Les Labourons
    • Grille-Midi
    • Les Moriers
    • Les Garants
    • La Presle
    • La Chapelle des Bois
    • Grand Pré
    • La Roilette
    • Champagne
  • Altitude340 metres
  • SoilPink granite (90%), piedmont deposits (8%)
  • Surface Area830 hectares

Characteristics
of Fleurie appellation

  • TastingLuminous, fruity, delicate
  • Tasting occasionAperitifs, dinner with guests
  • NoseIris, violet, rose, red fruit, vine peaches
  • Culinary suggestionsPork roast with apples and chestnuts, spice-crusted salmon and roasted veggies
  • ColourCrimson red
  • Serving temperature13-15°C
  • PalateElegant, refined

Learn more
about the Fleurie appellation

HEAVENLY LANDSCAPES, HOME TO FRAGRANT WINES

Lovingly tended by 150 winegrowers, the Fleurie appellation gets its lightness from being sheltered by the Avenas, Durbize and Labourons range.  The Fleurie vineyards back on to this particular massif and grow in sandy soil formed by the weathering of pink granite.  It’s this very specific terroir that gives the wine its delicate, elegant robe and its floral notes, which is why it is called a “feminine wine”.

Nevertheless, Fleurie wines have very distinctive flavours and, depending on where the vines are grown, some crus are much more full-bodied than others. The iris, violet and peach notes intensify the bouquet perfectly and guarantee a fleshy structure.

Even though the name Fleurie sounds rather feminine, it has nothing to do with nature. The name would appear to come from a Roman legionary called Florus, who was said to have settled down in one of the hills overlooking the vines. However, there is no actual proof of the legend but what does that matter since legends are often more enchanting than reality…

A unique landscape for growing Fleurie wines

Perhaps a quick geology lesson is needed to mention the unique landscape where Fleurie vines grow.  At the end of the Tertiary Era, exceptional tectonic and magmatic processes changed the landscape forever. The land was thrust upwards and hills formed across the Beaujolais region that were shaped over the years by erosion.

La Madone stands at the highest point of these valleys at 425 meters in altitude. The impressive statue is the landmark for the Fleurie vines, which grow from the south-eastern side of the hill and climb up to the Madone chapel.

The slopes with a 50% gradient offer outstanding views over the area where the crus are grown. It’s a great place to watch the radiant sun rise and then set over the Chiroubles vines in the west.

Delicate, elegant flavours

Fleurie wines have a certain unique softness in comparison to other Beaujolais appellations. However, it’s hard to find just one description that fits all the bottles produced in this winegrowing area. 

Ninety percent of the terroir is made up of pink granite that is undergoing slow erosion. The uneven weathering, along with soils of varying depths, produces wines that are unique and different from one year to the next. It is worth nothing that on granitic soil, gamay grapes produce powerful and deeply-coloured wines. 

For example, compare a wine from Roilette with one from Grille-Midi. There are considerable differences in character. Since the former grows on more granitic soil than the latter, you’ll be pleasantly surprised by its powerfulness, while you’re sure to find the Grille-midi’s fruity character appealing. The result being two wines to drink in different circumstances. 

Generally speaking, the attack of a Fleurie on the palate is frank, the acidity is low and the tannins are gentle.  These Beaujolais wines have nice roundness on the palate, and are just as good as aperitifs or with red or white meat. You can also stay on theme by serving them with mouth-watering Beaujolais- style andouillette sausages!

Fleurie is a great wine grown in vineyards that are great to visit! Its qualities mainly derive from its outstanding location, sheltered from the elements. The terroir also plays a role in the fruity, floral flavours… But be wary of the myth that they are always feminine wines! Not only do women like the distinguished crus but Fleurie also has a range of nuances that can give it a delicate bouquet or a full-bodied structure. The best idea is to come and taste it right on site while enjoying the Beaujolais region’s lush natural settings.

Appellation

Fleurie

DES PAYSAGES DIVINS POUR DES VINS QUI FLEURENT BON

L’appellation possède une géographie particulière. Elle est adossée à une chaîne de crêtes : Fût d’Avenas, Col de Durbize, Col des Labourons, Pic Raymont. La colline de la Madone surplombe l’appellation et offre un panorama imprenable sur l’ensemble du vignoble. Elle s’étend uniquement sur la commune éponyme et doit son nom à un légionnaire romain.

L’appellation Fleurie en bref

Les vins les plus féminins du vignoble du Beaujolais sont sans conteste les vins de Fleurie. Ils se cultivent tout d’abord dans un environnement verdoyant, au cœur de sublimes lieux-dits, pour finir par revêtir une robe rouge carmin du plus bel effet.

  • Commune(s)Fleurie
  • Lieux-dits
    • La Madone
    • Grille-Midi
    • Les Labourons
    • Les Moriers
    • Les Garants
    • La Presle
    • La Chapelle des Bois
    • Champagne
    • La Roilette
    • Grand Pré
  • Altitude340 mètres
  • SolsGranite rose (90%), piémonts (8%)
  • Surface830 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Fleurie

  • Signes particuliersLumineux, fruités, fins
  • Occasions de dégustationApéritif, grande tablée
  • NezIris, violette, rose, fruits rouges, pêche de vigne
  • Invitations culinairesRôti aux pommes et aux châtaignes, saumon entier en croûte d’herbes et légumes rôtis
  • OeilRobe rouge carmin
  • Température de serviceEntre 13 et 15 degrés
  • BoucheÉlégante, fine

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Fleurie

Des paysages divins pour des vins qui fleurent bon

Soignée par 150 viticulteurs, l’appellation Fleurie doit sa légèreté à la protection des crêtes d’Avenas, de Durbize et des Labourons. Adossés à cette chaîne, les vignobles de Fleurie profitent d’un sol sablonneux provenant de la décomposition du granite rose. C’est ce terroir si spécifique qui lui donne une robe fine et élégante, ainsi que des notes florales.

Pourtant, les vins de Fleurie restent typés et selon le lieu-dit de culture, certains vins sont bien plus corsés que d’autres. Les notes d’iris, de violette et de pêche viennent parfaitement intensifier le bouquet pour lui garantir une structure charnue.

Notez également que si l’appellation sonne bucolique, le nom de Fleurie n’a aucun rapport avec la nature. En effet, il viendrait d’un légionnaire romain appelé Florus, qui aurait installé ses pénates sur l’une des collines surplombant le vignoble. Cependant, aucune preuve n’atteste de cette histoire, mais qu’importe, les légendes sont souvent plus féériques que la réalité… 

Un paysage unique pour cultiver les vins de Fleurie

Un petit rappel géologique s’impose pour évoquer le paysage unique des vignobles de Fleurie. À la fin de l’ère Tertiaire, une activité tectonique et magmatique exceptionnelle a modifié le paysage à jamais. La région du Beaujolais s’est alors élevée en de multiples collines, taillées au fil des années par l’érosion.

C’est sur le point culminant de ces vallées, à 425 mètres d’altitude, que La Madone se dresse. Cette impressionnante statue est le point de repère des vignes de Fleurie qui partent du sud-est de la colline et remontent jusqu’à La chapelle de La Madone.

Ces pentes de 50% offrent un point de vue exceptionnel sur la région des Crus. On peut y observer un lever de soleil lumineux et profiter de son coucher sur les vignes de Chiroubles, à l’ouest.

Des saveurs fines et élégantes

Les vins de Fleurie possèdent une certaine douceur, unique, comparés aux autres appellations du Beaujolais. Cependant, il est difficile de mettre une seule étiquette sur toutes les bouteilles produites dans ce vignoble. 

Celui-ci bénéficie d’un terroir composé à 90% de granit rose qui subit une lente érosion. C’est cette décomposition disparate, combinée aux multiples profondeurs des sols qui génèrent des vins uniques et différents d’année en année. Il faut savoir que sur un sol granitique, le gamay donne des vins puissants et colorés. 

Comparons par exemple un vin issu du lieu-dit La Roilette avec une cuvée provenant de Grille-Midi : on constate des différences notables dans leur caractère. Le premier reposant sur un sol plus granitique que le second, La Roilette vous surprendra par sa puissance alors que Grille-midi vous séduira par son caractère fruité, ce qui en fait deux vins à consommer dans des circonstances différentes. 

Dans tous les cas, l’attaque d’un Fleurie est généralement franche, l’acidité très peu élevée et les tannins assouplis. D’une grande rondeur en bouche, ces Beaujolais se dégustent aussi bien en apéritif qu’avec une viande rouge ou blanche. Vous pouvez même rester dans le thème en les servant avec une succulente andouillette à la beaujolaise !

Fleurie est un vignoble qui se déguste, mais également qui se visite. Ses qualités reposent essentiellement sur une situation exceptionnelle, protégée des intempéries. Le terroir a aussi un rôle à jouer dans les saveurs fruitées et florales… Cependant, gare au mythe des vins féminins ! Non seulement les femmes apprécient les Crus de caractère, mais le Fleurie dispose d’une palette de nuances qui lui confère tantôt un bouquet tout en finesse, tantôt une structure corsée. L’idéal reste encore de venir déguster directement sur place et profiter de la nature chatoyante du Beaujolais.