Appellation

Beaujolais-Villages

FROM DIVERSE TERROIRS, MULTIPLE WINES

The Beaujolais-Villages appellation is located in the northern part of the vineyard and includes 38 villages. The steep vineyards, facing east-south-east between 200 and 500 metres in altitude, surround the 10 Beaujolais crus of the northern half of the vineyard, where there are as many terroirs as there are villages. As the vineyard’s mid-range wines, between the AOC Beaujolais and the crus, they can be enjoyed young or after a few years of cellar ageing. The wines produced in the southern part of the Beaujolais-Villages appellation are easy-to-drink and fruity; those from the central area are richer and structured; and in the area of crus, the wines are more robust and round.

The Beaujolais Villages appellation: an overview

The Beaujolais-Villages appellation is cultivated on the region’s best hills. Stretching out over 38 communes, the Beaujolais-Villages vines flourish thanks to the special sunshine on these terroirs since this prestigious vineyard stands on granite, sandy soils with some volcanic sedimentary rock. Gamay, the emblematic grape variety of the Beaujolais region, expresses its full potential here: Beaujolais-Villages are expressive, intensely fruity and fragrant.

It’s high time you took a plunge into the heart of this appellation, passionately managed by over 1000 winegrowers, exactly half of whom have private wineries.

  • Commune38 communes productrices
  • Altitude332 metres
  • SoilGneiss, band of blue stones, sandstone, shale, granite
  • Surface Area2900 hectares

Characteristics
of Beaujolais-Villages appellation

  • Tasting occasion(festive meals, aperitifs with friends) on any occasion
  • NoseFruity, citrus, mineral
  • Culinary suggestionsSeafood, spice-crusted salmon, cod burger, scallops in cream sauce, sweetbreads, pike in white butter sauce, roasted pork with apples, sole meunière.
  • ColourIntense, pale gold
  • Serving temperature7-10°C
  • PalateMouth-filling, balanced
  • TastingSupple, delicate, rich and expressive red fruit fragrance
  • Tasting occasionSince there's a wine for every occasion, in Beaujolais Villages, you're bound to find what you're looking for amidst our villages.
  • NoseBlack and red fruit
  • Culinary suggestionsGrilled rib of beef, roasted veal with mushrooms, skirt steak with shallots, pork chops in tomato sauce, beef bourguignon, chicken liver loaf, cream of lentil soup, rabbit terrine, grenadine of veal, strawberry and peach soup with black pepper, praline tart and wine-poached pears
  • ColourGarnet red, ripe cherry
  • Serving temperature12-14°C
  • PalatePowerful, structured and harmonious
  • TastingProduced in small quantities and in high demand, its forwardness is what's appealing.
  • Tasting occasionFestive meals, aperitifs with friends
  • NoseBlack and red fruit
  • Culinary suggestionsParsley ham, chicken sautéed with bell peppers, grilled aubergines with tomato and parmesan, oven-baked mackerel, Provençal-style roast chicken breast, pasta salad with bell pepper and tuna, fresh fruit salad
  • ColourPale pink with salmon-pink highlights
  • Serving temperature5-8°C
  • PalateMouth-filling and crisp, offering roundness and refreshing smoothness

Learn more
about the Beaujolais-Villages appellation

HISTORY DATING BACK TO 977

If you have ever had the chance to visit the Beaujolais-Villages appellation, you have most likely seen the magnificent château that overlooks the vineyards. It is hard to miss the marvellous estate in Pierres Dorées.  Nicknamed ‘Sleeping Beauty’s’ Château, it is in fact Château de Montmelas. Restored in the Gothic Revival architectural style in the 19th century by Louis Dupasquier, a Lyonnais architect who was a contemporary of Viollet-le-Duc, its history actually dates back to 977.

At that time, it was the residence of the Lords of Beaujeu, who gave their name to the Beaujolais region, as you will no doubt have guessed! It was also at this time that the monks of Cluny played a role in developing the vineyard on many hillsides which would later be classified as an appellation.

THE FIRST “VILLAGES” APPELLATION IN HISTORY

Of course, the Beaujolais Villages appellation is not limited to the area around Château de Montmelas alone. Smaller than that of the Beaujolais appellation, the production area actually surrounds the 10 crus.

It is worth nothing that, although you can now find different wines that include the name “villages”, in 1950 Beaujolais was the first to officially use the term to designate a very specific part of its AOC.

Beaujolais Villages wines are essentially red, but the Beaujolais Villages white and rosé wines are worth discovering. These vintages – rarer in quantity – are often in high demand by connoisseurs, looking for an aromatic wine with a certain complexity and structure.

A HEROIC WINE

The Beaujolais Villages appellation is sculpted on the best slopes of the vineyard, located between 190 and 550 metres in altitude.

When people talk about the Beaujolais-Villages vineyards, it is not uncommon to hear them describe it as “heroic”.  It is true that the vineyard is often located on especially steep slopes! Both the vines and the winegrowers deserve respect as they enhance the hillsides on this terroir. Imagine the physical feats the winegrowers have to make to cultivate the vines on a daily basis.

The next time you make a toast with a glass of Beaujolais Villages, you will no doubt have a thought for the men and women who cultivate it with passion day after day. Harvesting is mostly done by hand, which gives the winemaker more work and the wine more quality. Harvest time definitely offers the perfect opportunity to select only the best grapes to ensure that each cuvée has an intense, yet supple bouquet. When tasting, have fun naming the different red fruit aromas that blend together to make such expressive wines.

Above all, wines from the Beaujolais Villages appellation can be enjoyed throughout the year.

Beaujolais-Villages winemakers are also making “nouveaux” wines in red and rosé !

Last but not least, the Beaujolais Villages appellation is available in a “Nouveau” version which is available for tasting from the 3rd Thursday of November. They make up 40% of the wines sold as Beaujolais Nouveau reds and rosés.

Appellation

Beaujolais-Villages

À TERROIRS DIVERS, VINS PLURIELS

Les Beaujolais-Villages se trouvent sur la partie septentrionale du vignoble et sont répartis sur 38 villages. Les vignes escarpées, exposées est-sud-est entre 200 et 500 mètres d’altitude, entourent les 10 crus du Beaujolais sur la moitié nord du vignoble, où il y a autant de terroirs que de villages. Cœur de gamme du vignoble entre l’AOC Beaujolais et les crus, on peut les apprécier dans leur jeunesse ou après quelques années de bouteilles. Produits dans la partie sud de l’appellation Beaujolais-Villages, les vins sont gourmands et fruités ; dans la zone centrale, ils sont plus riches et structurés ; et dans le secteur des crus, les vins sont plus charpentés et ronds.

L’appellation Beaujolais-Villages en Bref

L’appellation Beaujolais-Villages est cultivée sur les meilleurs coteaux de la région. Réparti sur 38 communes, les vignes du Beaujolais-Villages s’épanouissent grâce à l’ensoleillement particulier de ces terroirs  car ce prestigieux vignoble repose sur des sols granitiques, de sables ou de roches volcano-sédimentaires. Le gamay, cépage emblématique de la région du Beaujolais, s’y exprime pleinement : les Beaujolais-Villages sont des vins expressifs, intensément fruités et parfumés.

Il est temps de vous proposer une plongée au cœur de cette appellation animée avec passion par plus de 1000 vignerons dont exactement la moitié en cave particulière.

  • Commune(s)38 communes productrices
  • Altitude332 mètres
  • SolsGneiss, cortège des pierres bleues, grès, schistes, granites
  • Surface2900 hectares

Caractéristiques
de l'appellation Beaujolais-Villages

  • Signes particuliersConfidentiels, frais, délicats et salins
  • Occasions de dégustationRepas festif, apéritif entre amis en tout occasion
  • NezFruité, notes d'agrumes, minéral
  • Invitations culinairesFruits de mer, saumon en croûte d’épices, burger de cabillaud, coquille saint jacques à la crème, ris de veau, brochet au beurre blanc, rôti de porc aux pommes, sole meunière
  • OeilIntense, or pâle
  • Température de serviceEntre 7 et 10 degrés
  • BoucheAmple, équilibrée
  • Signes particuliersSouples, délicats, parfums riches et expressifs de fruits rouges
  • Occasions de dégustationS’il existe un vin pour chaque occasion, en Beaujolais-Villages, vous trouverez forcément votre bonheur au milieu de nos villages.
  • NezNotes de fruits rouges et de fruits noirs
  • Invitations culinairesCôte de bœuf grillé, rôti de veau aux champignons, onglet à l'échalotte, côte de porc à la tomate, bœuf bourguignon, gâteau de foie de volaille, crème de lentille, terrine de lapin, grenadins de veau, soupe de pêches et de fraises au poivre noir ; tarte à la praline et poire pochées au vin
  • OeilGrenat, cerise bien mûre
  • Température de serviceEntre 12 et 14 degrés
  • BouchePuissante, structurée et harmonieuse
  • Signes particuliersConfidentiels et recherchés, ils séduisent par leur franchise
  • Occasions de dégustationRepas festif, apéritif entre amis
  • NezIntense, fruité, parfumé
  • Invitations culinairesJambon persillé, poulet sauté aux poivrons, les aubergines grillées à la tomate et au parmesan, les maquereaux au four, les Blancs de poulet rôtis à la provençale, la salade de pâtes au poivron et au thon, salade de fruits frais
  • OeilRose pâle aux reflets saumonés
  • Température de serviceEntre 5 et 8 degrés
  • BoucheAmple et croquante, offre rondeur, souplesse rafraichissante

En savoir plus
sur l'appellation Beaujolais-Villages

UNE HISTOIRE QUI REMONTE À 977

Si vous avez déjà eu la chance de vous rendre sur les terres de l’appellation Beaujolais-Villages, vous avez certainement aperçu le magnifique château qui domine le vignoble. Difficile de louper ce merveilleux domaine en Pierres Dorées. Surnommé le Château de la Belle au Bois Dormant, c’est en réalité le Château de Montmelas. Restauré dans une architecture néo-gothique au XIX siècle par Louis Dupasquier, architecte lyonnais contemporain de Viollet-le-Duc, son histoire remonte en fait en 977.

À cette époque, il fut la résidence des sires de Beaujeu, des seigneurs qui ont donné leur nom à la région du Beaujolais, comme vous l’aurez sans doute deviné ! C’est à cette époque également que les moines de Cluny participent à développer le vignoble sur de nombreux coteaux qui seront classés par la suite en appellation.

LA PREMIÈRE APPELLATION « VILLAGES » DE L’HISTOIRE

Bien entendu, l’appellation Beaujolais Villages ne s’arrête pas aux seuls alentours du Château de Montmelas. Plus restreinte que celle de l’appellation Beaujolais, la zone de production entoure en réalité celles des 10 crus.

Notez aussi que si vous trouvez aujourd’hui différents vins comprenant la dénomination « villages », le Beaujolais fût en 1950 le premier à utiliser officiellement ce terme pour désigner une partie bien spécifique de son AOC.

Les Beaujolais Villages sont essentiellement rouges, mais les Beaujolais Villages blancs et rosés sont à découvrir. Plus rares, ces cuvées sont souvent recherchées par les connaisseurs, en quête d’un vin aromatique avec une certaine complexité et structure.

UN VIN HÉROÏQUE

L’appellation Beaujolais-Villages est façonnée sur les meilleurs coteaux du vignoble, situés entre 190 et 550 mètres d’altitude.

Quand quelqu’un vous parle du vignoble du Beaujolais-Villages, il n’est pas rare de l’entendre le qualifier « d’héroïque ». Il est vrai que le vignoble est souvent situé sur des pentes particulièrement raides ! Les vignes ainsi que les viticulteurs méritent le respect comme ils valorisent ces coteaux de ces terroirs. Imaginez les efforts sportifs que doivent effectuer les vignerons pour cultiver les ceps au quotidien.

La prochaine fois que vous trinquerez avec un verre de Beaujolais-Villages, vous aurez sans doute une pensée pour ces hommes et ces femmes qui le cultivent avec passion jour après jour. Les vendanges sont majoritairement effectuées à la main. Ce qui ajoute du travail au vigneron et de la qualité au vin. Les vendanges sont en effet l’occasion parfaite de ne sélectionner que les meilleurs raisins, afin d’assurer à chaque cuvée un bouquet intense, mais souple. À la dégustation, amusez-vous à nommer les différents arômes de fruits rouges qui s’entremêlent et qui en font des vins si expressifs.

Enfin, les vins issus de l’appellation Beaujolais-Villages s’apprécient tout au long de l’année.

Les Beaujolais-Villages font aussi leur primeur en rouge et en rosé !

Enfin, l’appellation Beaujolais-Villages se décline en version « Nouveau » qui se déguste dès le 3e jeudi du mois de novembre. Ils représentent 40 % des vins vendus en « Nouveau », rouges et rosés.